The UTC Year

Term Dates

  Term Starts 1st Half Term Ends Half Term Holidays 2nd Half Term Starts End of Term
Autumn Term 05/09/18 19/10/2018 22/10 – 26/10 30/10/18 21/12/18
Spring Term 07/01/19 15/02/19 18/2 – 22/2 25/02/19 05/04/19
Summer Term 23/04/19 24/08/19 27/5 – 31/5 03/06/19 19/07/19*

*Whilst the formal end of the summer term is as normal, year 11 and year 13 students will finish school on the 28th of June 2019.

N.B.

  • Term dates do not always start on a Monday due to Staff training, the dates above are the dates students are expected in school.
  • The last day of term will be a half day with lessons finishing at 1:20pm.

Trial Exams

Throughout the school year we have time set aside for trial/mock exams. The aim is to provide an opportunity for students to familiarise themselves with the exam room environment, preparation and subject content.

The trial exams offer an opportunity to students to revise and practice as if the exams were real and to see their areas of strength and areas to improve. After every exam period we schedule one week to allow time for all subjects to go over exam papers and support students to clearly identify next steps to improve. This review process is more important than their total marks/grades as it clearly identifies how a student can achieve their best in the summer. Students will receive actual grades and forecast predictions of their summer grades.

  Year 11 Year 13
Trial Exam 3 W/C October 8th 2018 W/C October 8th 2018
Trial Exam 4 W/C October 3rd 2018 W/C 18th March 2019
Trial Exam 5 W/C 18th March 2019 N/A

 

Parents’ Evenings

Following the first and last trial exam series of the year we will have a parents’ evening, these will be based around providing next steps for improvement for students following the trial exams and also reporting back on an overview of the year to date.

A parents’ evening should not produce any surprises for you or your son/daughter. If there is anything of concern a teacher will be in touch during the course of the term. Likewise if you have any questions or concerns all teachers can be contacted by email either using the emails at the end of this note or by contacting reception on 01273 916170 to obtain their details.

The Parents’ Evenings for this year are.

Wednesday 7th November 2018 4:30pm – 7pm

Wednesday 3rd April 2018 4:30pm – 7pm

In addition the day following a parents’ evening is a 10am start to allow both students and staff who travel longer distances to relax in the evening

 

 

Summer Exams

The summer exam timetables are available online, however, to avoid confusion we will provide personalised timetables for each student later in the spring term. You should expect the summer exam period to start in the 2nd -3rd week of May and end on the 28th of June, this will be the last day for all students at UTC.

As in previous years lessons will continue as revision sessions following their normal timetable up until each subject’s exams are completed. Students are expected to attend as normal. A Level/BTEC students will not need to attend lessons once they have completed all exams in a subject. GCSE students will continue to attend all lessons, using completed subjects as revision lessons until all exams are completed.

College / University Applications

Conversations have already started with all students at UTC regarding College/University applications. There are a whole range of options available. If you have any queries please contact helenbrowne@utc-harbourside.org.

Year 11 students will research and apply for college/apprenticeship applications using UCAS progress, equally Year 13 students will use UCAS to research and apply for university/apprenticeship applications.

Year 11 students should be looking to attend college open evenings/days during the Autumn term and will have careers meetings with our external advisor during this term.

School Reports

A full school report is available at each of our parents’ evening and will be posted home to parents who do not attend, in addition twice each term student predictions, attendance and behaviour will be updated on the school parent app for those wishing to monitor more closely.

The School parent app

To improve communication and access to information on attendance, behaviour and attainment the school has invested in a new parent app. Further details of this will be available at the November parents’ evening. You are able to download the app from the app store or play store alternatively you can access the app features through any web browser Log in details will be sent out to parents shortly after half term.

Leadership & Teacher Email addresses

Lisa Jepson Principal principal@utc-harbourside.org
     
Tracy Newby Assistant Principal Curriculum Teaching & Learning – English tracynewby@utc-harbourside.org
Steve Pomery Assistant Principal Curriculum Outcomes – Maths stevepomery@utc-harbourside.org
Claire Webster Assistant Principal Post 16 & Careers – Geography clairewebster@utc-harbourside.org
Lisa Croydon Miles Safeguarding & Attendance Officer lisacroydon-miles@utc-harbourside.org
Kathryn Reynolds Operations Manager kathrynreynolds@utc-harbourside.org
     
Helen Browne Head of KS5 – Assistant Principal Post 16 & Careers Computer Science / ICT helenbrowne@utc-harbourside.org
Julian Kupper Head of KS4 – Engineering juliankupper@utc-harbourside.org
     
Kate Wells SENCO katewells@utc-harbourside.org
     
Paul Childers KS4 Science / A Level Biology / Electronics paulchilders@utc-harbourside.org
Charlie Kwan Product Design / Engineering charliekwan@utc-harbourside.org
Madeleine Macedo Maths / Further Maths madeleinemacedo@utc-harbourside.org
Ingrid Murray KS4 Science / A Level Physics ingridmurray@utc-harbourside.org
Fran Rivadulla A Level Chemistry franciscorivadulla@utc-harbourside.org
Tim Stanford Engineering timstanford@utc-harbourside.org
Louise Taylor A Level Chemistry louisetaylor@utc-harbourside.org
     
Eva Koutoumpa Cover Supervisor evakoutoumpa@utc-harbourside.org
Becki Rookley Learning Mentor rebeccarookley@utc-harbourside.org